Democracy is at risk underneath Congress, says Amit Shah

DHARWAD: BJP national president called upon the voters to put an end to the ‘corrupt’ rule of by bringing BJP to power with a clear majority.
Addressing the public and party workers at a against the opposition parties for stalling , in front of the DC office in Dharwad on Thursday, Shah said after Narendra Modi-led NDA formed the government at the Centre in 2014 fourteen states in India where the elections to assembly were held, had seen Congress decimated and BJP taking over the reins and Karnataka will be the next state to be ‘Congress-Mukt’.

Continuing his tirade on the Congress party, Shah said Congress was trying to strangle democracy in the country by stalling the functioning of the Parliament.

He accused the party of shying away from debates on vital issues while the ruling NDA was willing to debate on the bank scam, row over the special status to Andhra Pradesh and no-confidence motion by the minority parties against the Centre.

“Huge money is spent on each day’s proceedings and not allowing the Parliament to function amounts to betrayal of the people,” Shah said, adding that Rs 225 crore had gone down the drain due to noncooperation of opposition parties.

On the Lingayat-Veerashaiva issue, Shah said the objective of all parties should be to unite people rather than divide them into sections based on caste and religion. The attempt by Congress to divide Lingayats will boomerang and the party will learn a befitting lesson, he said.

Shah who arrived at the deputy commissioner’s office at 12.30pm, sat in the protest for thirty minutes before continuing his tour to Gadag district.

BSY dares Siddaramaiah

BJP state president B S Yeddyurappa dared Chief Minister Siddaramaiah to win from Chamundeshwari constituency.

Yeddyurappa added that, with defeat staring at them in Chamundeshwari and Koratagere, the Congress high command has asked siddaramaiah and KPCC president G Parameshwara to look for other options.

Party leaders Jagadish Shettar, Rajeev Chandrashekar, Prahlad Joshi, Arvind Bellad, Pradeep Shettar, Amrut Desai and others were present.

Get latest news & live updates on the go on your pc with . Download The for your device. in English and other languages.