This election, Mysuru will get new counting centres

Mysuru: In what is likely to mark a departure from tradition or traditional venues, to be more precise, the centres for counting of votes for the 11 assembly constituencies spread across Mysuru will be changed this year. In the elections that have been held since 2000, counting of votes was held at JSS College on Ooty Road, and Maharani’s College on JLB Road. However, for the forthcoming assembly elections, counting is set to be held at the newly constructed Maharani’s at Paduvarahalli, and the NIE Institute of Technology (NIE-IT) at Kooragalli.
While counting of votes cast in seven constituencies, including Chamundeshwari, where chief minister Siddaramaiah is fighting the polls from, will be carried out at Maharani’s College at Paduvarahalli, NIE-IT will be used for counting of the other four segments, including Varuna, which is set to witness a high-octane clash between the CM’s son Yathindra Siddaramaiah and BJP state chief BS Yeddyurappa’s son BY Vijayendra.

The then deputy commissioner KB Sivakumar, also the district electoral officer, along with City police commissioner A Subramanyeshwar Rao had paid a visit to the two new a few days ago, and informed the that the facilities at NIE-IT and Maharani’s Commerce and Management College, were better equipped for counting of votes in comparison to those used previously.

Additional deputy commissioner Yogesh told TOI that the decision to change the counting centres was, in part, motivated by the use of the Voter Verified Audit Paper Trail (VVPAT) system in the upcoming elections. “The VVPAT machine is an independent entity, which gives voters confirmation of their choices. We need more space to accommodate these machines, and after inspecting the new Maharani’s College and NIE-IT campus, we informed the EC, who gave is the nod to choose these two buildings as the new counting centres,” Yogesh added.

New counting centres

At Maharani’s Commerce and Management College, Paduvarahalli, votes cast in the following segments will be counted: Chamundeshwari, Chamaraja, Narasimha Raja, Krishnara Nagara, T Narasipura, Hunsur and HD Kote

At NIE-IT in Koorgalli, votes will be counted for the segments: Krishnaraja, Periyapatna, Nanjnagud and Varuna

– R Uday Kumar

Get latest news & live updates on the go on your pc with . Download The for your device. in English and other languages.